La Cité internationale

Cité Internationale des Arts

Visit of exhibitions in the presence of artists in residence

Friday, May 20 at 5pm

Since its creation in 1965, the Cité internationale des arts has hosted nearly 300 artists from all over the world and of all generations, in partnership with 135 French and international organizations. It is a place of life open to dialogue between disciplines, where artists meet their audiences and professionals. The Cité internationale des arts covers two complementary sites, one in the Marais and the other in Montmartre. In the perspective of Drawing Now Art Fair, three residents offer installations and exhibitions that explore the practice of drawing:

Charwei Tsai (Taiwan) is interested in spirituality, an interest she manifests through the calligraphic writing of mantras on various and often living media: trees, tofus, mushrooms, lotus leaves – and here, linen. In addition to his calligraphy work, Charwei Tsai makes documentary and contemplative performances and videos. She is represented by the Mor Charpentier Gallery (Paris).

Timo Herbst (Germany) presents "Rhythmanalysis, 2019- ongoing Interaktive projektions", an installation in which cinematographic recordings movements measured outside the exhibition space are recomposed using the processing of the movement data that take place there: the forms flicker and fragments of the original films wander through the image compositions.

Rachid Boukharta (France) presents a work in progress on a place that is at the crossroads of constitutive characteristics of his artistic practice, dealing with the question of ornamentation, decorative, garden and sexual identity. As such, he is interested in the Jardin des Tuileries, also known as the "garden of prey", an expression that installs the ambiguity between the world of seduction and that of aggression.

Address

18 rue de l'Hôtel de Ville

— 75004 Paris

Timetables
Reservation

La Cité Internationale

Cité Internationale des Arts

Parcours de visite d’expositions en présence des artistes en résidence

Vendredi 20 mai à 17h

Depuis sa création en 1965, la Cité internationale des arts accueille en résidence près de 300 artistes du monde entier et de toute génération, en partenariat avec 135 organismes français et internationaux. C’est un lieu de vie ouvert au dialogue entre les disciplines, où les artistes rencontrent leurs publics et des professionnels. La Cité internationale des arts s’étend sur deux sites complémentaires, l’un dans le Marais et l’autre à Montmartre.

Dans la perspective de Drawing Now Art Fair, trois résident.e.s proposent des installations et expositions qui explorent la pratique du dessin :

Charwei Tsai (Taïwan) s’intéresse à la spiritualité, intérêt qu’elle manifeste par l’écriture calligraphique de mantras sur des supports divers et souvent vivants : arbres, tofus, champignons, feuilles de lotus – et ici, le lin. En plus de son travail de calligraphie, Charwei Tsai réalise des performances et des vidéos documentaires et contemplatives. Elle est représentée par la galerie Mor Charpentier (Paris).

Timo Herbst (Allemagne) présente Rhythmanalysis, 2019- ongoing Interaktive projektions, installation dans laquelle enregistrements cinématographiques mouvements mesurés en dehors de l’espace d’exposition sont recomposés à l'aide du traitement des données de mouvement qui s'y déroulent : les formes vacillent et des fragments des films originaux déambulent dans les compositions d'images.

Rachid Boukharta (France) présente un travail en cours sur un lieu qui est à la croisée de caractéristiques constitutives de sa pratique artistique, traitant de la question de l'ornementation, du décoratif, du jardin et de l'identité sexuelle. À ce titre, il s’intéresse au Jardin des Tuileries, aussi connu sou le nom de « jardin des proies », expression qui installe l’ambiguïté entre l'univers de la séduction et celui de l'agression.

Adresse

Cité internationale des arts
18, rue de l'Hôtel de Ville
— 75004 Paris

Horaires
Réservation