Loeve&Co

15 rue des Beaux-Arts, 75006, Paris

+33 (0)1 42 01 05 70

General

For the 14th edition of Drawing Now, Loeve&Co pays tribute to Sarah Kaliski (1941-2010), a Belgian artist with Jewish Polish roots, presenting a selection of never-before-seen drawings that were executed from the 1990s until her death in 2010 in Paris.

It will be a unique opportunity to show this powerful, dreamy and radical body of work to the general public, in the midst of a renewed interest in her production. Her work bears the lasting traces of the Holocaust and illuminates the proximity of suffering and pleasure.

Since the 1990s, Sarah Kaliski has explored the creative possibilities of the drawing medium and paper in general. She multiplied artistic endeavors: drawings on reclaimed material, stage decors, book illustrations (notably for Éditions Fata Morgana), paintings and installations.

This show proposal follows a first solo exhibition of Sarah Kaliski (« Quel est ton nom, petite? Sarah Kaliski ») at Loeve&Co in September 2019. Her work was enthusiastically received by a wide and varied audience. It was met with surprise, awe, and a deep-seated emotion, bringing to the forefront of our consciousness the salient points of our collective memory.

Artists

Sarah KALISKI

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00

Loeve&Co

15, rue des Beaux-Arts, 75006, Paris

+33 (0)1 42 01 05 70

Général

Pour la 14e édition de Drawing Now, la galerie Loeve&Co rend hommage à l’œuvre de Sarah Kaliski (1941-2010), artiste belge d’origine juive polonaise, avec une sélection de dessins inédits réalisés au cours des années 1990, jusqu’à sa disparition en 2010 à Paris.

Ce solo show est l’occasion de révéler au public cette œuvre puissante, onirique et radicale, actuellement en pleine redécouverte, celle d’une femme marquée par le chaos de la Shoah où la dichotomie entre souffrance et jouissance occupe une place centrale.

Dès les années 1990, Sarah Kaliski explore le médium du dessin et du papier comme surface de création en multipliant les expériences artistiques : dessins sur des supports de récupération, décors pour le théâtre, illustrations de livres (dont plusieurs aux Éditions Fata Morgana), peintures, installations.

Cette proposition s’inscrit dans le prolongement d’une première exposition personnelle de Sarah Kaliski, (« Quel est ton nom, petite ? Sarah Kaliski ») chez Loeve&Co en septembre 2019. L’œuvre a reçu un accueil enthousiaste d’un public large et hétérogène. Ce travail a suscité́ la surprise, l’étonnement, l’émotion d’une découverte qui touche les ancrages les plus forts de notre mémoire collective

Artistes

Sarah KALISKI