Michèle Didier

General Sector
Booth B11

logo_michele_didier

micheledidier.com

+33 6 09 94 13 46

94 Richard Lenoir Blvd.
75011 Paris
France

Presentation of the gallery

michèle didier, founded in 1987 in Brussels, produces and publishes original artworks by contemporary artists.

In 2011, michèle didier opened a gallery in Paris. The gallery represents artists of different generations, related to the editions produced by the publishing house, but also develops specific projects with particular invitations. Since its creation, the gallery has given priority to collaborations with artists working in a conceptual vein, in particular international artists who are now considered historic. The Paris gallery also supports the development of artists from the French scene.

Presentation of the artist in focus

JOSH SMITH
Set of 50 designs.
Signed and dated 2005 by the artist on the back of the sheet.
Size: 20.3 x 12.3 cm.
Graphite pencil drawing on paper.

These 50 drawings belong to the series entitled "Faces", made in 2005 and which contains a total of 672 drawings.

Josh Smith said of this series, "These quick drawings were made in 2005. I like to draw quickly, without thinking or looking, and then look at the result when the drawing is finished. The drawings are so simple that there is no reason to correct any defects that appear. Drawing them was cathartic and I continue to draw faces all the time. Not deliberately, but differently. I would recommend the drawing to anyone. It's impossible to go wrong, so there's no stress." Josh Smith's work is distinguished by his perfect mastery of several techniques such as drawing, painting, collage, engraving and ceramics. His most emblematic works are works
whose sole subject is its own name. In recent years, the name has given way to motifs such as leaves, fish, skeletons, insects or sunsets. By choosing these subjects, which are quite ordinary, and by representing them in a way that is by turns violent, playful or sarcastic, Josh Smith forces us to go beyond aesthetics and to focus on this repetition of the subject, of the motif, which treated in this way, exhausts it and leads it to its doom.

Artist

Josh Smith — focus

Alex Hanimann

Elsa Werth

Kay Rosen

Mathieu Mercier

Suzy Lake

Michèle Didier

Secteur Général
Stand B11

logo_michele_didier

micheledidier.com

+33 6 09 94 13 46

94, boulevard Richard Lenoir
75011 Paris
France

Présentation de la galerie

michèle didier, fondée en 1987 à Bruxelles, produit et publie des oeuvres originales d'artistes contemporains. 

En 2011, michèle didier ouvre une galerie à Paris. Cette dernière représente des artistes de différentes générations liés aux éditions de la maison d'édition et développe aussi des projets spécifiques donnant lieu à des invitations. Depuis sa création, la galerie privilégie des collaborations avec des artistes inscrits dans une veine conceptuelle, notamment des artistes internationaux aujourd'hui considérés historiques. La galerie à Paris accompagne aussi dans leur développement des artistes issus de la scène française.

Présentation de l'artiste en focus

JOSH SMITH
Ensemble de 50 dessins.
Signé et daté 2005 par l’artiste au verso de la feuille.
Format : 20,3 x 12,3 cm.
Dessin au crayon graphite sur papier.

Ces 50 dessins appartiennent à la série intitulée "Faces", réalisée en 2005 et qui contient en tout 672 dessins.

Josh Smith disait à propos de cette série " Ces dessins rapides ont été réalisés en 2005. J'aime dessiner rapidement, sans réfléchir ni regarder, puis regarder le résultat lorsque le dessin est fini. Les dessins sont si simples qu'il n'y a aucune raison de corriger les défauts qui apparaissent. Les dessiner a été cathartique et je continue à dessiner des visages tout le temps. Pas d'une manière délibérée, mais différemment. Je recommanderais le dessin à tout le monde. Il est impossible de se tromper, donc il n'y a pas de stress ". L'oeuvre de Josh Smith se distingue par sa maîtrise parfaite de plusieurs techniques comme le dessin, la peinture, le collage, ou la gravure et la céramique. Ses oeuvres les plus emblématiques sont des travaux
qui ont pour sujet unique, son propre nom. Ces dernières années, le nom a cédé la place à des motifs tels que des feuilles, des poissons, des squelettes, des insectes ou des couchers de soleil. En choisissant ces sujets, somme toute assez ordinaires et en les représentant d'une manière tour à tour violente, ludique ou sarcastique, Josh Smith nous oblige à aller au-delà de l'esthétique et à nous concentrer sur cette répétition du sujet, du motif, qui traité ainsi, l’épuise et le mène à sa perte.

Artiste

Josh Smith — focus

Alex Hanimann

Elsa Werth

Kay Rosen

Mathieu Mercier

Suzy Lake