Drawing Room

Hofweg 6, 22085 Hamburg, Germany

+49 40 55 89 57 24 / +49 172 583 4551

PROCESS

Drawing Room's multidisciplinary programme focuses on artistic practices referencing conceptual art and minimalism.

For this edition of Drawing Now Art Fair, Drawing Room presents a selection of non-representative works on paper by artist Katharina Hinsberg, in which the mesh of the lines is "traced" by cutouts in the paper.

The themes of the drawings, made between 2015 and 2021, belong to different groups of works (Ajouré, Diaspern, Lacunae, Netz and Gitter | Linien), who inspire and inform each other. The serial aspect of the drawing complexes is an important feature of Hinsberg's working approach. Katharina Hinsberg's works have an explosive character, as they break with one's familiar conception of the medium of drawing, as something that remains on the surface. Katharina Hinsberg works instead with the line, which she cuts, thus transporting it from the two-dimensional plane to the three-dimensional plane. Hinsberg applies lines on white paper using Indian ink, graphite or colored pencil, and then works the paper with a scalpel and knife. With great concentration, she releases tiny areas of the support, skeletons and creates linear structures from what is actually a pure white surface, pushing the boundaries of the viewer's perception. Through this transformation process, the drawn line becomes a cut line. In a time-consuming process, Hinsberg explores the breadth of support, material and line. However, it is always the independent play of lines and their positioning between drawing and space that sets the tone.

Artists

Katharina HINSBERG (focus)

Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 14,7x10,5 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist
Katharina Hinsberg, Lacunae, 2015, indian ink on paper, cut out, 23x18 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist
Katharina Hinsberg, Net, 2015, graphite on paper, cut out, 100 x 80 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and artist
Katharina Hinsberg, Grid Lines, 2021, crayon on paper, cut out, 84 x 59,4 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room_b and artist
Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 15x11 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artis
DR_KH_exhibition 2016
Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 14,7x10,5 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist Katharina Hinsberg, Lacunae, 2015, indian ink on paper, cut out, 23x18 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist Katharina Hinsberg, Net, 2015, graphite on paper, cut out, 100 x 80 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and artist Katharina Hinsberg, Grid Lines, 2021, crayon on paper, cut out, 84 x 59,4 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room_b and artist Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 15x11 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artis DR_KH_exhibition 2016

Drawing Room

Hofweg 6, 22085 Hamburg, Germany

+49 40 55 89 57 24 / +49 172 583 4551

PROCESS

Le programme multidisciplinaire de Drawing Room se concentre sur les pratiques artistiques faisant référence à l'art conceptuel et au minimalisme.

Pour cette édition de Drawing Now Art Fair, Drawing Room présente une sélection d'œuvres non représentatives sur papier de l'artiste Katharina Hinsberg, dans lesquelles le maillage des lignes est "tracé" par des découpes dans le papier.

Les thèmes des dessins, réalisés entre 2015 et 2021, appartiennent à différents groupes d'œuvres (Ajouré, Diaspern, Lacunae, Netz et Gitter | Linien), qui s'inspirent et s'informent mutuellement. L'aspect sériel des complexes de dessins est une caractéristique importante de l'approche de travail de Hinsberg. Les œuvres de Katharina Hinsberg ont un caractère explosif, car elles rompent avec la conception familière que l'on a du médium du dessin, comme quelque chose qui reste à la surface. Katharina Hinsberg travaille plutôt avec la ligne, qu'elle découpe, la transportant ainsi du plan bidimensionnel au plan tridimensionnel. Hinsberg applique des lignes sur du papier blanc à l'aide d'encre de Chine, de graphite ou de crayon de couleur, puis travaille le papier avec un scalpel et un couteau. Avec une grande concentration, elle libère de minuscules zones du support, les squelettes et crée des structures linéaires à partir de ce qui est en fait une surface blanche pure, repoussant les limites de la perception du spectateur. Par ce processus de transformation, la ligne dessinée devient une ligne coupée. Dans un processus qui prend du temps, Hinsberg explore l'étendue du support, du matériau et de la ligne. Pourtant, c'est toujours le jeu indépendant des lignes et leur positionnement entre le dessin et l'espace qui donne le ton.

Artistes

Katharina HINSBERG (focus)

Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 14,7x10,5 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 14,7x10,5 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Lacunae, 2015, indian ink on paper, cut out, 23x18 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Lacunae, 2015, indian ink on paper, cut out, 23x18 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Net, 2015, graphite on paper, cut out, 100 x 80 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Net, 2015, graphite on paper, cut out, 100 x 80 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Grid Lines, 2021, crayon on paper, cut out, 84 x 59,4 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room_b and artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Grid Lines, 2021, crayon on paper, cut out, 84 x 59,4 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room_b and artist

Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 15x11 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artis

Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 15x11 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artis

DR_KH_exhibition 2016

DR_KH_exhibition 2016

Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 14,7x10,5 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist Katharina Hinsberg, Lacunae, 2015, indian ink on paper, cut out, 23x18 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artist Katharina Hinsberg, Net, 2015, graphite on paper, cut out, 100 x 80 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and artist Katharina Hinsberg, Grid Lines, 2021, crayon on paper, cut out, 84 x 59,4 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room_b and artist Katharina Hinsberg, Ajoure, 2014, paper cut, 15x11 cm, Photo Helge Mundt, Courtesy Drawing Room and the artis DR_KH_exhibition 2016