Iragui

General Sector
Booth C2

Capture d’écran 2023-12-20 à 16.23.45

+7 903 562 72 41

29 & 43 rue de la Commune de Paris
Greater Paris - Moscow 93230
France

Presentation of the gallery

The Iragui Gallery was created in 2011 in Moscow by the curator Ekatherina Iragui, originally from Paris. Ekatherina began her gallery program by presenting French artists born in the 1970s in dialogue with local Russian artists.
Today, Iragui Gallery represents both emerging and increasingly established artists from Russia and abroad. It presents an interdisciplinary program that emphasizes conceptual work. The gallery contributes to the participation of its artists in international projects and their integration into the global artistic context. Attaching great importance to research, Iragui believes in a collaborative approach by working closely with artists, curators and collectors. Currently based in Moscow, Iragui Gallery is opening a space in Greater Paris (Komunuma hub in Romainville) in June 2024.

Presentation of the artist in focus

Nikita Alexeev (1953-2021, Moscow) is one of the most brilliant exponents of the artistic movement of "Moscow conceptualism". In the 1970s and 1980s, Alexeev was one of the main protagonists of Moscow unofficial art and was one of the founders and participants in the first actions of the legendary group Collective Actions (1975-1980). He directed the famous APTART gallery, while collecting the first documents for the Moscow New Art Archive. From 1987 to 1993, he lived in France.

Nikita Alexeev preferred to work in sets. This method reflects the fundamental principles of his art, based on observation, endless repetition and the poetics of the ordinary. In his work, birds and vegetables float on iconic golden backgrounds, and small pocket objects form a reliquary. In some projects, Nikita depicts everyday objects as messengers from the other world, in others he shows them as bearers of memory, and he often addresses, through them, figures from the past. This dialogue was never without a certain irony.

The interplay between the verbal and the visual was crucial for the artist. Many of his series are a search for a certain "gap" between meanings. In addition, Alexeev has written texts accompanying his projects, which are not merely explanatory commentaries but constitute a kind of beginning of the pictorial history.

Nikita Alexeev's works are part of the collections of the Centre Pompidou, the Kupferstichkabinett, the Staatliche Museum zu Berlin, the Museo d'arte moderna e contemporanea di Trento e Rovereto (MART), Rovereto, the Jane Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum. The Norton and Nancy Dodge Collection, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, and many more.

Iragui

Secteur Général
Stand C2

Capture d’écran 2023-12-20 à 16.23.45

+7 903 562 72 41

29 & 43 rue de la Commune de Paris
Grand Paris - Moscow 93230
France

Présentation de la galerie

La galerie Iragui a été créée en 2011 à Moscou par la conservatrice Ekatherina Iragui, originaire de Paris. Ekatherina a commencé son programme de galerie en présentant des artistes français nés dans les années 1970 en dialogue avec des artistes russes locaux.
Aujourd'hui, la galerie Iragui représente à la fois des artistes émergents et des artistes de plus en plus établis de Russie et de l'étranger. Elle présente un programme interdisciplinaire qui met l'accent sur le travail conceptuel. La galerie contribue à la participation de ses artistes à des projets internationaux et à leur intégration dans le contexte artistique mondial. Attachant une grande importance à la recherche, Iragui croit en une approche collaborative en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les artistes, les conservateurs et les collectionneurs. Actuellement basée à Moscou, la galerie Iragui ouvre un espace dans le Grand Paris (pôle Komunuma à Romainville) en juin 2024.

Présentation de l'artiste en focus

Nikita Alexeev (1953-2021, Moscou) est l'un des plus brillants représentants du mouvement artistique du "conceptualisme moscovite". Dans les années 1970 et 1980, Alexeev a été l'un des principaux protagonistes de l'art non officiel moscovite et a fait partie des fondateurs et des participants aux premières actions du légendaire groupe Collective Actions (1975-1980). Il a dirigé la célèbre galerie APTART, tout en rassemblant les premiers documents pour les archives moscovites du nouvel art. De 1987 à 1993, il a vécu en France.

Nikita Alexeev préférait travailler par séries. Cette méthode reflète les principes fondamentaux de son art, basés sur l'observation, la répétition sans fin et la poétique de l'ordinaire. Dans son œuvre, des oiseaux et des légumes flottent sur des fonds dorés emblématiques, et de petits objets de poche constituent un reliquaire. Dans certains projets, Nikita dépeint les objets quotidiens comme des messagers de l'autre monde, dans d'autres, il les montre comme des porteurs de mémoire, et il s'adresse souvent, à travers eux, à des figures du passé. Ce dialogue n'allait jamais sans une certaine ironie.

L'interaction entre le verbal et le visuel était cruciale pour l'artiste. Nombre de ses séries sont une recherche d'un certain "écart" entre les significations. En outre, Alexeev a rédigé des textes accompagnant ses projets, qui ne sont pas simplement des commentaires explicatifs mais qui constituent en quelque sorte une amorce de l'histoire picturale.

Les œuvres de Nikita Alexeev font partie des collections du Centre Pompidou, du Kupferstichkabinett, du Staatliche Museum zu Berlin, du Museo d'arte moderna e contemporanea di Trento e Rovereto (MART), Rovereto, du Jane Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum. The Norton and Nancy Dodge Collection, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, et bien d'autres.